top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Swan Mom

Welcome & Happy World Ballet Day!

Updated: Dec 6, 2022

Here's an official "Welcome!" to The Swan Mom site, and a rundown of my World Ballet Day plans.


Welcome to The Swan Mom Blog! Thank you for stopping by. I'm The Swan Mom and I am a former ballet dancer, seminary wife and mom of eight children. I'm so happy that you stopped by as I re-enter the world of Ballet. In due time, I'll tell you all about the origin story of this blog, and what I hope to accomplish with it in the long run. Of course, my biggest goal is to provide a space for Christian and non-Christian dancers to be encouraged. If you don't know about God, I cant wait to tell you all about Him and the freedom and joy that He's given me...and how you can have that same freedom and joy too. I hope you will continue to stop by as I renew my ballet journey and maybe bring a few of my own kiddos along with me. Now, enough about me....



Happy World Ballet Day!

Is there a better day to launch a ballet blog? I don't think so!! I pray that you all find time to do or watch some ballet today. As for me, well I've got a busy day ahead of me, but I do hope to get some stretching and ballet watching in. Thank the Lord for Youtube!


Here's what I'm excited about....

Note: You can find the schedule for World Ballet Day 2022 at www.worldballetday.com


I think over time I will likely catch all of the streams from all of this year's ballet company participants. However, here are a few companies that have really sparked my interest.


~ Hong Kong Ballet

~The National Ballet of Japan

~The National Ballet of China

~ Opera National de Paris

~ The Royal Academy of Dance

~ American Ballet Theatre

~ Philadelphia Ballet

~ The Washington Ballet

~ Cape Town City Ballet

~ Joburg Ballet


Okay, so I kinda feel like that's basically ALL of the companies participating this year. But I'm really just so excited to see what companies all over the world are up to. I love to see the differing techniques and methods, and I love to see different interpretations of classical ballet pieces. I picked some of the above companies because I have a particular interest in that country's culture, and some companies were picked because I used to live in those areas. On the other hand, some companies are just juggernauts and you gotta watch em no matter what.


On this day, as we celebrate this treasured art form, I'd just like to thank God for making us creators....like Him. I truly am so thankful for ballet and all of the good that it's brought into my life.


"Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows."

~James 1:17


And ballet truly is a gift.....don't you think?


I'd love to know what your World Ballet Day plans are. Tell me in the comments below!


Until next time, peace be with you.


bottom of page